Advertisements

Learning from mistakes, IT errors of the past

Do you like interesting things? Maybe you would like my creation, a Handmade connectible candle called a WickBrick!

Get some here http://wickbrick.bigcartel.com/product/20-white-wickbrick-s-with-2-12-wick-s

So a younger IT version of myself once made this foolish error. Some other unnamed person decided to mess with the screen resolution, I think it was a ’98 box which meant it didn’t have the current time out dialogue asking you if everything was OK before it applied the screen change setting. Anyways so I hop on, boot in safe mode and then delete the profile of the afflicted user. Tada, screen resolution fixed. Except… the user stored all of their files on the desktop. So I violated what I consider the cardinal rule one of information, don’t delete anything. What I should have done is renamed the profile, or made a copy of the profile. Even then my mistake was recoverable, except the fact that I wasn’t familiar with and didn’t have access to any file recovery tools. Learning moment, don’t delete files. What have you learned not to do?

Advertisements